Megan Rapinoe: The first white American athlete to take a knee and how Manchester United’s “disgraceful” towards women’s football

Megan Rapinoe celebrates during a game between Japan and USWNT (Photo by Brad Smith/ISI Photos/Getty Images)

Megan Rapinoe is one of the biggest names in women’s football, from winning two World Cups, an Olympic gold medal as well as the 2019 women’s Ballon d’or, but it’s her actions off the field that have received the most plaudits. 

“Any time I have someone try to explain or argue with me about kneeling or arguing, it’s just and incoherent, fumbling, patriotic mess, right?”

Rapinoe was the first white American athlete to take the knee, an act of solidarity with former San Francisco 49ers quarter back Colin Kaepernick. 

https://jacobfrainthatssport.wordpress.com/2020/11/07/behind-manchester-united-ups-and-downs-this-premier-league-season/

“Taking a knee sharpened my understanding of what I did, how I supported Colin [Kaepernick] and sharpened my resolved in that”

Knows as an activist for equality across all, speaking out about racism, sexism and homophobia, she has been a leading voice in the fight for equal pay between men’s and women’s football in the states. 

The 2019 Ballon d’or winner says: “A lot of time, white athletes particularly male athletes, don’t feel the same effects that other people do; they don’t feel the effects of racism, sexism, misogyny or pay equality.”

Fearing for her international future, Rapinoe explains: “It was not a comfortable time. I certainly felt that at least my international career was a bit in jeopardy.”

“It showed me a lot of true colours around me in a lot of different ways. The critics yell really loud and I had federation who clearly didn’t support me and, I felt, a coach who really didn’t support me, but I had so many people around me who always stuck by me and were with me the whole time.”

Rapinoe recently got engaged to long-term girlfriend, Sue Bird, who is an American basketball star.

Megan Rapinoe hugs her girlfriend Sue Bird following the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup France Final match between The United State of America and The Netherlands. (Photo by Jean Catuffe/Getty Images)

“You can look at me and be gay, you can look like Sue and be gay. That gives people the confidence to be yourself.”

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 National Women’s Soccer League was postponed, with a number of world cup winners coming to play in the WSL. 

“I think women’s football in England is the same as it is in America – it is so far behind because of what we’ve had to overcome in the lack of investment.”

“It’s 2020. How long has the Premier League been around? And we’re only just seeing a club like Manchester United put effort and pounds towards a woman’s team? Frankly, it’s disgraceful”

The Manchester United Women team line up ahead of the Barclays FA WSL match against Birmingham City Women (Photo by John Peters/Manchester United via Getty Images)

Even though the 35-year-old is coming towards the back end of her illustrious career, she has no plans to retire any time soon. 

“I want to keep playing. I’m definitely not anywhere near retirement – I absolutely want to play at the Olympics.

“After the Olympics I’ll have to take a longer look at the next three years. We’re a year closer to the next World Cup and it’s pretty enticing. We’ll leave that one out in the open.”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started